How should I communicate with my dad after I made a mistake?

Posted on

My answer to How should I communicate with my dad after I made a mistake?

Answer by Thomas Zerbarini:

It sounds like a simple mistake. Were you distracted and thinking of school or something else that led to the distraction?

If I were you I would simply apologize and explain it was a mistake and that your sorry for causing them any angst. You can also explain that you will make some changes and tell them what you will do in the future this doesn’t happen again.

It’s normal to make mistakes from time to time. The important thing is to learn from them and own up to them. Your parents should understand and accept your sincere apology.

In my life, especially in mornings, things are very busy and there’s a lot going on. To make sure I don’t forget anything, I have a mental checklist I go through before I leave to make sure I don’t forget anything or anyone. For long trips I’ll prep a written checklist to make sure I don’t forget anything. Also, the night before I will prep my morning items the night before to make sure the morning goes smooth.

I would lose countless sunglasses at restaurants. So, I created little habits like placing my keys on my sunglasses and cell phone at a restaurant table so I don’t forget them.

We all make mistakes and can overlook things at times. It’s human nature. It’s minimizing those errors and striving to do it better that’s makes us successful.

I hope that helps.

Thomas Zerbarini

How should I communicate with my dad after I made a mistake?

Leave a Reply

