Is it normal for a 2-3 year old to pretend to be someone else?

Posted on

My answer to Is it normal for a 2-3 year old to pretend to be someone else?

Answer by Thomas Zerbarini:

Hi,

Thank you for the opportunity to comment on your question. It sounds like she has a wonderful imagination and is very intelligent.

After reading your comment and the other replies to your question I wanted to add my thoughts.

I assume she watches these cartoons and shows regularly and that is where she is getting the idea and information. It amazes me that she role plays and imagines her surroundings actively in her day that often. The characters clearly have an impression upon her. I know that we all place ourselves in the story when we read or watch a show. We may even imagine or dream about being a character in a book or show that inspired us. The imaginative play is completely normal and expected. Your daughter appears more advanced than others in her play.

In your comments you stated she gets upset when you try to speak to her and call her by her name when she is role playing. I would suggest it might be a good idea to positively clarify with her that she is “make pretending right now” and that you need to speak to her “real person.” This is a good time teach them to differentiate between real and pretend.

Check out this great article on Pretend Play and What to Expect:

Pretend Play | What to Expect

Enjoy this stage of development. I simply loved watching my kids pretend play because I got to see how they think and what has influenced their minds so far. I would actually see them re-enact behaviors from Mom and Dad that I had no idea they picked up.

Thomas Zerbarini

Is it normal for a 2-3 year old to pretend to be someone else?

Leave a Reply

