Is it important to have a degree? I mean I’m a Trainee Pilot and will get my pilot’s licence 2years from now.

Posted on

My answer to Is it important to have a degree? I mean I'm a Trainee Pilot and will get my pilot's licence 2years fr…

Answer by Thomas Zerbarini:

Yes, it is important to get a degree.

You do not need a degree to be a pilot and to get some kind of pilot job. You do need a degree if you wan to be more competitive and more desirable to employers. A degree sets the foundation for basic skills and knowledge needed in a global professional environment.

I have had the opportunity to interview and assess pilots and other professionals with and without degrees. I can definitely see differences in numerous ways including:

  • How they present themselves
  • How they fill out an application
  • How they speak and write
  • How quickly they pick up information
  • How they work as part of a group or team
  • How they set out to achieve a project or goal

It is in my humble opinion that a formal education sets the foundation of what and how much we accomplish in our career(s) and life.

Yes, I feel it is important to get a degree.

Thomas Zerbarini

Is it important to have a degree? I mean I'm a Trainee Pilot and will get my pilot's licence 2years from now.

Leave a Reply

