How can I get my 7 year old boy to enjoy his successes more?

Posted on Updated on

Answer by Thomas Zerbarini:

Hi,

What immediately comes to mind was my experience with my son. He would be so competitive in sports and class. For example, if he was running a race or racing someone to the soccer ball, as soon as someone passed him he would just stop trying and even collapse and just fall to the ground like he utterly failed.

What I did was make an emphasis on team work and helping someone else out and being proud and happy with your contribution to make the other person or team win, and be successful — even if they beat him.

He sort of rolled his eyes at first, but when he started to try it he started to appreciate his involvement in someone else's success. He started to understand the value of team. He began making more friends and being accepted. The best part is that he started to learn about the sport or lesson in class little more.

I learned early in my career as an Instructor, that we learn more when we are teachers or teaching than we would ever learn as a student.

I hope that helps,

Thomas Zerbarini

How can I get my 7 year old boy to enjoy his successes more?

Leave a Reply

